top of page

About the Early Years Foundation Stage 

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) incorporates the time from when your child is born until the end of reception. (their first year at school).   


The EYFS is made up of seven areas of learning – which are split into two parts:

The three prime areas:

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development


The four specific areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design


Children aged under three work mostly on the prime areas as they underpin the four specific areas.  The early years foundation stage is based upon a unique child with positive relationships and an enabling environment leading to learning and development.   Through a combination of adult led and child initiated play both indoors and outdoors children at Little Treasures will be able to foster the characteristics of effective learning - playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically.  


Read more about the EYFS here

bottom of page